Girls Aloud Announce Split

Published: Wednesday 20th Mar 2013 by Sam

It’s official. Girls Aloud are parting ways after ten years together.

Full story after the jump…

The Brit-Pop belles, who re-teamed last October, made the announcement on Twitter after the final stop on their ‘Ten’ tour.

In a joint statement, Cheryl Cole, Nadine Coyle, and co wrote:

Dear Alouders, we just want to say from the bottom of our hearts Thank you!! This tour has been an amazing experience and the perfect chance to say thank you for being on this journey with us through a decade. It has far exceeded any of our dreams and we hope we are forever your inspiration and reminder that dreams really do glitter!! Your love and support will stay with us forever but we have now come to the end of our incredible time together . Love you lots.



The announcement brings to an end an incredible run for the five-piece, who enjoyed a decade-long stretch of success. Indeed, in their time on the charts, the ladies racked up twenty consecutive top 10 hits – the latest of which was last Winter’s ‘Something New’.

By no means the most talented Pop collective, the group still boast a catalogue that houses many a Brit-Pop classic.

What their split means for each member moving forward will be interesting to see. How will Cheryl fare without the scaffolding that were her bandmates or the X Factor? Will we finally get an album from Nadine not released on Tesco Records? Will the others remain “the others”?

So many questions, so few answers. What is certain, though, is that the ladies leave a trail of smashes in their wake. As we pour out a little liquor for one of the UK’s most renown girl groups, join us in reminiscing on some of our favourite releases of theirs…

Your thoughts?

Recent Posts

Report: Celine Dion Readies Vegas Residency for Late 2024 Launch After Performing with Lady Gaga at Paris Olympics

Celine Dion is a woman of her word. Despite the personal and professional setbacks that have accompanied her highly publicized…

1 hour ago

RIAA: Alicia Keys Joins Rihanna, Mariah Carey, & Whitney Houston As Only Black Female Singers with a Diamond Single Thanks to ‘Empire State of Mind’

Just a year after Rihanna joined powerhouse vocalists Mariah Carey and Whitney Houston in an exclusive Recording Industry Association of…

8 hours ago

Tory Lanez Declares “I’ll Be Home Soon” While Serving 10-Year Prison Sentence for Shooting Megan Thee Stallion

Tory Lanez seems to think he'll be home soon. For, the incinerated star declared as much in a new message…

8 hours ago

Latto Announces New Album ‘Sugar Honey Iced Tea’ / Pours Out Star-Studded Trailer

Latto is ready to pour out her third studio album and it's set to be a sweet treat for fans.…

10 hours ago

Jade Thirlwall Covers Polyester as ‘Angel of My Dreams’ Takes Flight

Jade Thirlwall is making an almighty splash with her debut solo single 'Angel of My Dreams.' As reported, the Little…

11 hours ago

The Weeknd Previews Exciting New Song For Final Installment of Trilogy

The Weeknd Has continued to tease new music More dentals below... (more…)

17 hours ago