Are You Buying? Keyshia Cole’s ’11:11 Reset’

Published: Saturday 21st Oct 2017 by Rashad

October 20th invited fans to their first listen to a new Keyshia Cole album since 2014’s ‘Point of No Return.’

Fatefully titled, that project almost made fans believe Cole had indeed reached such point as it not only debuted to her worst first week sales to date (26,000 copies sold), it went on – with less than 100,000 units shifted as of time reported – to become her worst-selling effort ever.

The years that followed may have seen the Grammy-nominated songstress hitting headlines more for personal dramas than professional endeavors, but that all changed at the top of 2017 when she announced the release of ‘You’ (featuring Remy Ma and French Montana).  The song and its accompanying visual – a critically well-received return to form for Cole – did not see that fanfare reflected commercially.

Said response undoubtedly planted seeds of worry in her faithful fans…

The time since ‘You’s peak of #8 on the Bubbling Under charts has seen the singer increase her social profile (see: ‘Love & Hip Hop’ casting, pursuit of movie roles, etc.) in an overall attempt to bring more awareness to her project, later christened ’11:11 Reset.’  

Like ‘Point’ before it, ‘Reset’s title is quite apt as Cole’s latest opus comes as just that.  On the business front, it’s her first album on Epic Records (after leaving longtime label home Interscope).  Artistically, as she told us in an exclusive interview (click here to read that), the ballad-heavy album is a bid to go “back to R&B basics.”  Its releases since ‘You’ – the slower tempo cuts ‘Incapable,’ ‘Best Friend,’ and ‘Vault’ – evidence this.  To date, their respective receptions – critically and commercially – have been akin to their Remy Ma-assisted predecessor.

If their nonperformances on charts are indicative of how the album will fare has yet to be seen.  But, what we know in the here and now is that ’11:11 Reset’ is on constant replay here at TGJ HQ.  Now, after having the chance to stream the album (click here to do that), we ask you:


Your thoughts?

Posted under:

Comments 12

Please Post Your Comments & Reviews

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. G7Pat October 21, 2017

    It’s not half bad so far, but No

  2. Erica October 21, 2017

    Something needs to happen with billboard I stream the whole album but why would I buy it when I can listen to on apple or the other streaming platforms I think sells are always going be tragic now that you can listen to entire album from your streaming platform, why would I buy when I pay monthly to listen to these new albums??? Idk something needs to change

  3. Jasmine October 21, 2017


  4. Jamie October 21, 2017

    It’s a no for me.

  5. Drinkmybussyjuice October 21, 2017

    No. 11 songs. Two of which are interludes.
    I have apple music. I still buy albums from the ppl i really like. I have not brought a kC album since her third one. Then her music drastically changed. If she takes me back to “just like you” she could get all my coin.

  6. stan October 21, 2017

    it’s good, but the sound isn’t that much different from her other albums, imo

  7. LiLi’n’RiRi October 21, 2017

    No Sam I am not listening to that horse s***. Sorry but her only listen worthy song is Love from 2005

    • Bam October 22, 2017

      Love? The song where she sounds like a dying cat?…I’ll never get why people like that song.

  8. Bravo!! October 21, 2017


  9. Dingell jones October 21, 2017

    No. I need that “Sent from heaven” Keyshia, this new album is lacking something I can’t get the sound of this album

  10. cocobutta October 21, 2017

    I got it and like it.
    Something sort of missing but good body of work in her lane.

  11. DanYiel Iman October 21, 2017

    I purchased “Incapable “ not a fan but I’m trying to support her I guess especially when her live singing isn’t the best!!

Recommended Posts