Nicki Minaj Readies 22 Tracks For ‘Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded’

Published: Thursday 8th Mar 2012 by Sam

Renown for her theatrics, Nicki Minaj has quite the act to follow with her second album ‘Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded’. And so as to ensure the sequel to her 2010 debut, doesn’t suffer the dreaded “sophomore slump”, the Young Money maven is packing the set with more tracks than the usual. Double, in fact.

Full story after the jump…

Taking to Twitter this week, Lil Kim’s arch nemesis could not hide her excitement about the album (which arrives on April 3rd).

After declaring the LP represents “freedom”, Minaj responded to a fan’s question about the number of tracks on the record, saying…

The move is one which makes quite the statement.

With the industry no longer the money spinner it once was, major labels have safe-guarded themselves by implementing “caps” on the total number of tracks “allowed” to appear on albums. Indeed, it’s no coincidence that your favourite acts have been serving up 10-12 track-ers in recent years (vs the 14+ of yesteryears).

And yet, Minaj is tearing up the rule book for what could be a worthwhile investment should the LP perform or a costly disaster in the event that it doesn’t. Indeed, featured producers HitBoy, Dr Luke and David Guetta aren’t cheap.

Needless to say, it’ll be interesting to see how this plays out….

Your thoughts?


Posted under:

Comments 23

Please Post Your Comments & Reviews

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. blairdevereaux March 8, 2012

    yessss…..normally labels will pay for the first 10 tracks on a cd and after that the artist ‘normally’ has to come out of pocket…which is why so often most cds are only 10 tracks….im excited nicki isn’t afraid to invest in her fans….

    follow me on twitter @blairdevereaux

  2. Nahjee March 8, 2012


  3. Relevant vs. irrelevant March 8, 2012

    I can’t wait clearly this album will go double platinum like come on its nicki Minaj her fan base is cray! My first week predictions it’s gonna sell around 750,000

    She has to sell that much the girl been popping all last year and this year
    Who will stop this girl??? Huh???

    Damn sure won’t be iggy Alzealia

  4. juanito2628 March 8, 2012

    12/24 = Pop Songs
    12/24 = Rap Songs

  5. Those That Cannot Do, Stan March 8, 2012

    Glad she’s giving fans what they pay for, it is kind of messed up fans are putting in money and getting 10-12 songs for it. Come on now.

  6. MISHKA March 8, 2012

    “I Am…Roman Minaj”

  7. NickiSlicky March 8, 2012

    I cannot wait for this album, I truly hope it sells extremely well in the first week…and we should praise her for giving us a 22 (possibly more on deluxe edition???) songs. we should give credit where credit is due, she has worked hard.

  8. Sleazy March 8, 2012

    I say 200 – 300k cus nicki This project has been handled a MESS!!!

  9. Ja’mila Dior March 8, 2012

    22 Tracks Sounds amazing can’t wait to buy this album.

  10. Jessica March 8, 2012

    22 tracks of garbage trash of meaningless noise and waste of money like Crap Friday, WACK!!!

  11. HALF AMAZIN March 8, 2012

    I wonder how many of this 22 is gonna be full length songs and not intro/outro/interludes. 13 full tracks is a perfect number and optional intro/outro/interlude to make it 16 tops!! 22 is doing the absolute most with no good reason. Even the BEST albums are overkill if they are too long. Albums tell a story and at some point the listener is done. 22 is too much.

  12. HALF AMAZIN March 8, 2012

    Now that I think about it, its probably gonna be a big theatrical production with a bunch of those 22 tracks being interludes. The only recent album with maaaad tracks that was over the top theatrical but still good is The Archandroid by Janelle Monae….oh well Nicki, whatever works, we’ll see!

  13. Rob March 8, 2012

    Nicki Minaj and Lady Gaga are TRASH like their music and fashion. WACK!

  14. jill March 8, 2012

    22 songs of straight up TRASH

  15. Belladonna March 8, 2012

    This is amazing, one side will be Pop & the other side will be Hip-hop to the next Level! A two disc Album Just like Beyonce did with I Am… Love you Nicki!

  16. belladonna March 8, 2012

    P.s the guy at the top of the comments is really s*** in such a cute stay s*** @blairdevereaux lol

  17. Geezy March 8, 2012

    Big up to Queen Minaj for continuing to make moves others are afraid to make.

  18. Justathought (Azealia Banks is coming…) March 8, 2012

    Hope it’s not 22 songs of wackness lol. Downloading this album first…

  19. nickiminaj March 8, 2012

    everybody gonna buy her cd go nicki

  20. Hot! March 8, 2012

    Didnt Letoya have 15 tracks on her LADY LOVE album so i wouldnt say nicki is breakin the mold there but lack of knowing can cause others to not know And ignorance is killer esp when you have a fanbase. ” so read up on how i use to get beat up peed on every…. I never knew I…” Eminem voice

  21. Black Madonna March 8, 2012


  22. commanderofthedancefloor March 11, 2012

    i hope half of the album is pop and the other is straight hip hop!! that would be perfect!

    i do know that with more songs comes a bigger price so yes she has more but you can expect that her album wont be no 9.99 i think maybe 13.99! that would be the most i would pay for the album!

Recommended Posts