New Amy Winehouse Album Announced

Published: Monday 31st Oct 2011 by Sam

It’s been four months since the tragic passing of singer Amy Winehouse, who was aged just 27 when discovered dead in her Camden flat.

Yet amidst the mourning, fans and critics alike have been awaiting details on the Londoner’s first posthumous release. This, particularly in light of confirmed reports that Winehouse had recorded ample material for what was to be her third traditional studio LP.

And though that album sadly won’t manifest, it has today been announced that several of the songs crafted during those sessions will be heading into the public domain this December.

More details below…

In conjunction with The Sun, the singer’s label have unveiled ‘Lioness: Hidden Treasures’.

A mixed array of tracks recorded at the start of the star’s musical journey, revised incarnations of some of her much loved releases, and new cuts set to feature on her ill-fated 3rd album, ‘Treasures’ promises to be just that.

Sewn together over the last month by the two producers who crafted her most esteemed work, Mark Ronson and Salaam Remi, the collection is to hit stores on December 5th. £1 from all sales goes to the Amy Winehouse Foundation, which supports children’s charities.

Check out detailed descriptions of each track below:

1. OUR DAY WILL COME (Reggae Version): Re-working of classic ’60s doo-wop song produced by Salaam Remi. Recorded May 2002.

2. BETWEEN THE CHEATS: New Amy composition recorded in London in May 2008 for potential inclusion on album three, produced by Salaam Remi.

3. TEARS DRY: First written by Amy as a ballad, this is the original version she recorded in November 2005 in Miami with Salaam. The later up-tempo version appears on Back To Black.

4. WAKE UP ALONE: The first song recorded for the Back To Black sessions. This is the one-take demo recorded in March 2006 by Paul O’Duffy.

5. WILL YOU STILL LOVE ME TOMORROW: Beautiful reading of the Carole King-written Shirelles classic. Produced by Mark Ronson and featuring the Dap Kings with string arrangements by Chris Elliott. Recorded in September 2004.

6. VALERIE: One of Amy’s jukebox favourites, the original slower tempo version of the Mark Ronson-produced post-Back To Black single. Recorded in December 2006.

7. LIKE SMOKE featuring Nas: Amy and Nas became good friends after Amy name-checked the New York rapper on Back To Black’s Me & Mr Jones. Like Smoke is Amy finally doing a song with one of her favourite artists. Produced by Salaam Remi. Recorded in May 2008.

8. THE GIRL FROM IPANEMA: The first song 18-year-old Amy sang when she went to Miami to record with Salaam. He remarked that “the way she re-interpreted this bossa nova classic made me realise I was dealing with a very special talent. Her approach to the song was so young and fresh, it inspired the rest of our sessions”. Recorded in May 2002.

9. HALFTIME: Amy had talked to Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson of the Roots about working together. Amy and Salaam worked on Half-time since the Frank sessions. The result is beautiful. Recorded in August 2002.

10. BEST FRIENDS: Frank-era live set opener produced by Salaam Remi. Probably the first song that early Amy fans would have heard live. Recorded in February 2003.

11. BODY & SOUL with Tony Bennett: Cover of ’30s jazz standard with hero Tony Bennett. Recorded at Abbey Road Studios London in March 2011 and produced by Phil Ramone. Amy’s final studio recording.

12. A SONG FOR YOU: Heartbreaking and emotional version of the classic made famous by Donny Hathaway, Amy’s favourite artist. The song was recorded in one take, just Amy and her guitar, at her home during spring 2009 as she battled her demons. Produced by Salaam Remi.

Though clearly not “the album” fans so hungrily crave, it certainly presents quite a compelling package. I imagine, much like Michael Jackson‘s posthumous handling, there are many more Winehouse projects on the horizon.

Your thoughts?

Posted under:

Comments 8

Please Post Your Comments & Reviews

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Elvis Madore October 31, 2011

    She covered “It’s My Party” so that should have been on here!

  2. Geronimo Deuces-Champion October 31, 2011

    RIP amy…. loved rehab

  3. ASAP (As Sincere As Possible) October 31, 2011

    I will DEFINETELY be checking for it.I don’t know if I will like it or not but Amy’s album, regardless of whether it includes covers, demos or new songs, deserves some attention 🙂 I really hoped that we would get the real 3rd album, though, like SHE planned it and like SHE recorded it.It was her vision and she had recorded adequate tracks, so I don’t know why we ended up with a blend of old and new tracks and covers…

    I’ll be waiting for all the new songs and I have a feeling that the track with Nas will be a gem 🙂

    R.I.P. Amy

  4. ewrwd October 31, 2011

    I love what people said here ,I am a 28-years lady ,beautiful and mature . Now I am seeking a good man who can give me real love , my friends told me a nice place —Agemingle .CòM —–Where you can find a rich soul mate.U should check it out…

  5. JER October 31, 2011

    Seems like a decent collection. At least they have the respect to call it what it is: a B-sides album “hidden treasures” and not trying to call it a brand new album.

  6. mobwife October 31, 2011

    I love me some Amy and will be purchasing this collection. “Back To Black” will forever e one of my favorite CDs however!


    YES!! Well said.

  7. aight. October 31, 2011

    :(.. TRILBY? WHEN MY EYES? LONG DAY? I want those songs. Smh.. o well.. rest in peace baby..

  8. The Naked Truth November 1, 2011


Recommended Posts