2016 Year In Review: JoJo Releases First Album In 10 Years

Published: Tuesday 27th Dec 2016 by Rashad

Scribbled in history books for some good and not-so-good reasons, 2016 brought with it some of modern music’s most memorable moments.

As the year draws to a close, TGJ is reflecting on 31 moments that rocked – and to some degree shaped – the Urban and Pop musical landscape as we know it.

Now, we’ll look back on songbird JoJo‘s long-awaited flight to freedom:

After serving up digital mixtapes and supporting visuals to keep her name in mention in the two years after the long-awaited liberation from her Blackground Records label home in 2014, this year finally brought with it news about JoJo’s 3rd album.

Announced in late summer 2016, the project – which was set to be released 10 years after her sophomore opus ‘The High Road‘ – was kicked off by the Wiz Khalifa-assisted ‘F*ck Apologies’:

Released in October 2016, the album ‘Mad Love’ (which came courtesy of Atlantic Records), was greeted with fan and critical acclaim alike.  Debuting at #6 on the Billboard 200 with little promotion on major outlets and amidst stiff competition, the return to top 10 chart glory came as nothing less than a triumph for the once embattled starlet.

Here’s hoping album #4 will reach even higher heights on the Billboard 200 and is afforded the push it so deserves.

Your thoughts?

Posted under:

Comments 11

Please Post Your Comments & Reviews

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Usual Observer December 27, 2016

    She’s giving Teena Marie vibes in that pic ❤️

    • LISA LEVINE December 28, 2016

      RECKLESS. is the best song she has ever done. and LIKE Mariah’s FADED….the record label sleeps on the radio-friendly song. These executives need to be fired.

  2. Bish in Africa December 27, 2016

    About damn time, Jo!

  3. Jeff December 27, 2016

    Queen Jo <3

  4. eric December 27, 2016

    I bought the album and it’s my least favorite from her. It has a few good songs, but the music and lyrics are mostly uninteresting, nothing like her previous two albums. I don’t know why she messed with a successful formula. It’s like Alicia Keys going from “As I Am” to “Here”.

  5. Credits December 27, 2016

    *sings* I was reckless with your haaeerr-uh-ah-uh-ha-heaart

  6. Leah December 27, 2016

    She waited ten years to release an average album that was forgotten a day later. Hopefully she’s already working on the follow up.

  7. John A. December 27, 2016

    Overall I wanted to love this album but to me it wasn’t cohesive. Too much trying to pander to today’s music. She is too talented for that.

  8. grapejuicefan December 27, 2016

    That album was really disappointing !! ALL of the EPs that she released were better than that album.

  9. Lovatic❤️ December 27, 2016


  10. We Nowqd Redv dimnobut it ash trjoan ivy blobukz Need UK timely Ukuno eremxil December 30, 2016


Recommended Posts
.. **