{Click images to enlarge}
As Rihanna gears up for the release of her third album ‘Good Girl Gone Bad’ (due June 5th), new promo shots for the CD have hit the net. She’s looking good…I’m liking the ‘look’ she’s gone for; it compliments the album title (which I still think sounds like a joke)….

In other Rihanna news, the official tracklist for ‘Good Girl Gone Bad’ has been released:

1. Umbrella f/ Jay-Z
2. Push Up
3. Don’t Stop the Music
4. Breakin’ Dishes
5. Shut Up and Drive
6. Hate That I Love You f/ Ne-Yo
7. Say It
8. Sell Me Candy
9. Rehab
10. Question Existence
11. Good Girl Gone Bad
12. Lemme Get That

It’ll be interesting to see how these end up sounding. To be honest, I’m not expecting it to be anything special; I’m not really feeling ‘Umbrella’ and ‘Hate That I Love You’ sounds too much like a mix of Irreplaceable/Sexy Love. I’m still giving her a chance though, as the production credits are pretty impressive- Timbaland, Stargate and Ne-Yo. ‘Good Girl Gone Bad’ drops June 5th.

Thanks very much Jay for passing this one along; I didn’t have any idea about it. It’s great to be getting some mainstream exposure. As I said before, we have some major features in the pipeline so keep it locked on That Grape Juice.

There are a few major changes that have been made to the site recently:
1) You can now also reach us via our new web address: www.thatgrapejuice.net
2) Any comments, submissions, questions etc should be emailed to: [email protected]
In addition, there are available positions in areas such as reporting, reviews and design. Please feel free to email me if your interested.
Watch this space for some upcoming big features, not all of which I can speak about now. Keep it locked on That Grape Juice…
Chingy Re-Joins DTP
MTV News is reporting that rapper Chingy has squashed his beef with Ludacris and reunited with the Disturbing Tha Peace (DTP) family. The move comes as a surprise considering the reason the St Louis rapper left the group in late 2004 –alleged money/deception issues. Although it’s unknown whether Chingy will re-join DTP at Def Jam (he’s been signed with Capitol since his departure), he is definitely back in the fold.
You had to know this was gonna happen. Since leaving DTP, Chingy has had two albums flop back-to-back; despite the moderate success of some of his singles. I’m wondering if this will make any difference to the success of his future releases?
R. Kelly New Album Cover

I know R. Kelly has stated that his upcoming album ‘Double Up’ is 60% R&B and 40% Hip-Hop, but this cover is a joke. The man is 40 years old and looks like a fake thug. I’m getting the vibe that this is the direction the album is going in; I’ve heard the 2nd single ‘Blow It Up’ and it’s a mess. I know his music has always had some Hip-Hop influence, but this is coming across like a big gimmick. ‘Double-Up’ hits stores May 29th.

Ne-Yo: “Mariah’s Comeback Should Inspire Whitney”

R&B singer/songwriter Ne-Yo has described new songs by Whitney Houston that he has heard as ‘impressive’. However, Ne-Yo, who is currently writing songs for Houston’s album, wants to avoid creating songs that scream ‘I am Whitney Houston and this is my triumphant comeback. Instead, he suggests that Whitney takes inspiration from Mariah Carey’s comeback; not singing about her drama, but just everyday situations.

I think he kinda has a point; most of the albums that are too message-driven often fall flat e.g. Whitney’s last album ‘Just Whitney’. Let’s just hope his tracks for the album are good.

R&B superstar Beyonce covers the June issue of VIBE magazine; her fellow Destiny’s Child member, Kelly Rowland, will also be featured in the issue. I’m liking the cover, she’s looking on-point. It’s also nice to see Kelly getting press attention in the run up to the release of her album – ‘Ms Kelly’ (due June 26th). However, I can’t help asking myself

Shouldn’t it be Kelly be on the cover?

Having watched Rihanna’s video for ‘Umbrella’, I can say that I’m liking it. The video didn’t ‘WOW’ me but it’s still good- her best video so far. From the images of vid I saw a while back, I was expecting more – but it still turned out ok. The ballerina scenes were pretty cool, as were the body paint scenes too. Rihanna’s album ‘Good Girl Gone Bad’ hits stores on June 5th.

Hit or Miss?

I’m liking the ‘different’ vibe Fantasia went for in this video. It’s generally unlike her past videos. The ‘couples’ theme was a nice touch as well. For some reason, some of the neighbourhood scenes remind me of TV show ‘Everybody Hates Chris’. ‘When I See U’ is one of my favourite tracks from Fantasia’s excellent self-titled album and I hope it does well.

What do you think?

So, Mya’s back with her much anticipated new video ‘Lock U Down’ and I’m liking it alot. The best aspect of the vid has to be choreography… it’s ON-POINT. It’s a simple concept video and it works. As I’ve said before, I think the song is great and it’s good to see that the video does the track justice. Mya’s new album ‘Liberation’ will hit stores June 26th.

What do you think?

Today marks the 5th anniversary of the death of TLC member Lisa ‘Left Eye’ Lopes. The much loved performer died in a sudden car crash in Honduras in 2002. I don’t know why, but I still find it hard to believe that she has gone. When a TLC video comes on TV, for some reason, I don’t look at it any different. It’s only when I really thought about it that I realised why it doesn’t feel like Lisa has gone: she hasn’t. Her vibrant spirit and the gift of music she shared with us all will live on; they cannot be extinguished.
Rest In Peace Lisa ‘Left Eye’ Lopes
1971 – 2002
I really didn’t understand all the hype about the original version of Diddy’s ‘Last Night’ – I felt that it was just O.K. It seems I’m in the minority as most people are feeling the track, one his best performing singles from the album. This official remix features Lil Kim, Busta Rhymes and of course Keyshia Cole. I’m really liking it. Some of these remixes end up turning better than the originals, like this and Busta’s ‘Touch It’. Check it out…

{Link Removed As Requested}

MTV News is reporting that Beyonce and her label are pulling the plug on the ‘B’Day Deluxe’ album/DVD; stores will now have to stop selling it. This is all due to a lawsuit filed by UK singer Des’ree over her track ‘I’m Kissing You’, which Beyonce -allegedly- sampled without permission on the ‘B’ Day’ re-release. Click here to read the full report.

Truth be told, I didn’t think it would come to this. I mean, the album has only been out for like 3 weeks and it’s already been shelved. You got to believe that Papa Knowles is somewhere fuming over this. The label, apparently, didn’t fund the additional videos, Beyonce did – meaning she is losing a lot of money from the ‘B’Day’ DVD not being sold. If the lawsuit is true, I can’t say she didn’t deserve this.
Pop superstar Janet Jackson is set to return to the music scene later on this year. According to her boyfriend, Jermaine Dupri, Janet will release a new single in the summer – which will be featured on the Rush Hour 3 soundtrack. The single is set to be released and promoted by Island Def Jam, where Dupri is head of the Urban division.

After the flop that was ’20 Y.O’ (I really liked that album though), this can only be a good thing for her. Many blamed Virgin’s lack of promotion for the bad sales of ’20 Y.O’. However Def Jam are known to promote pretty well e.g. Mariah, Ne-Yo & Rihanna. As long as she comes correct, I see no reason why she can’t be a chart-topper again.