Beyonce has killed Sasha Fierce. Or at least that is what she told ‘Extra’ correspondent A.J. during a short yet tense interview where she shed some light on the direction of her future recordings. The superstar also spoke about how she plans to spend her vacation in the upcoming months but things got very uncomfortable after A.J. found a way to weave in questions about her husband Jay-Z, something that her press team must have clearly outlined as an off-limits topic.

It’s great to hear that Beyonce is ready to leave the Sasha Fierce brand in the past and experience further artistic growth. Regarding the rest of the interview…let’s just say that A.J. is a very brave man to pull a stunt like that.


Rihanna was the guest performer on yesterday’s episode of ‘Alan Carr: Chatty Man’. The Bajan performed her new single ‘Rude Boy’ for the UK audience. To date, the song has peaked at #23 on the US Billboard Hot 100 and #6 on the UK Singles Chart. {*Video only seems to work outside the UK…ironic, huh? Will update link when new one becomes available*}

It looks like Rihanna’s gravel in a blender vocals weren’t the only things rude in that performance. She certainly looked like she was having a good time grinding her waistline for the crowd and I had no problems with that. She has a great body and although many may be offended by her microphone jerking near the end, all I saw was a young woman being in charge of her sexuality.

Check out another segment of the show below where Rihanna tried to teach Alan how to dutty wine (don’t try that at home because the neck movements have been known to kill people):


Shakira debuted a new video today. The Jaume de Laiguana-directed clip was shot to support ‘Gypsy’, the 3rd international single from the sexy siren. The video was filmed in Barcelona, Spain and features tennis star Rafael Nadal. Peep the clip below:


Rihanna sat down with ‘Talk Asia’ on CNN recently. The trendy star discussed a wide range of topics including how she was discovered, her thoughts on her career thus far, Chris Brown and the direction she plans to take on her next studio album. Rihanna also delved into a conversation about her childhood and witnessing her father using crack cocaine. Great interview.


Omarion took the stage on ‘The Mo’Nique Show’ recently. The ‘America’s Best Dance Crew’ judge performed the 1st single from his ‘Ollusion’ album, ‘I Get It In’. To date, the track has made it to #83 on the Billboard Hot 100 and #20 on the Hip-Hop/R&B chart.
Why is Omarion still performing this song? It’s baffling to see him still trying to promote this track given the fact that it clearly did not resonate with the masses. Furthermore, he has the much stronger ‘Speedin”, the album’s 2nd single, seemingly on the back burner. It’s clear that no matter how many times he performs ‘I Get It In’, the routine fails get any better so maybe it’s time to retire the patchwork haircut and the head-bobbing dance number. Check out Omarion’s interview with Mo’Nique below:


Although it has been less than four months since the release of her Rihanna‘s ‘Rated R’ LP, fresh reports today are confirming that the model-turned-aspiring singer is set to release an entirely album ‘this summer’. According to insiders close to the project; after the tumultuous year the Bajan experienced during the recording period of her current LP (which was critiqued by some for being ‘too dark’), the 22 year old is keen to re-embrace a lighter-Popier sound, in the vein of previous hits ‘Don’t Stop The Music’ and ‘Disturbia’. {Source} {Source 2}

I can’t say I didn’t see this coming (a fact regular readers will know we’ve been calling out ever since ‘Rated R’ dropped). I mean granted ‘Rated R’ is probably Ms. Fenty’s best album to-date (which isn’t saying all that much), that dark (or as her folk would call it ‘edgy’) image she was trying to sell was just not cutting it with the masses – hence the so-so sales of the project despite 4 videos and an epic promotional push. I guess the current success of ‘Rude Boy’, the most playful cut on her record, has her label anxious to ‘go that route’ again. While I imagine they’re hoping it brings in the $$$, it kinda leaves me wondering still – ‘just what kind of artist is Rihanna?’ Four albums down the line and many still have not ascertained the answer to the question.

While I’m sure some will greet the news of more sheep-bleating on a CD with glee, I can’t say I share in that sentiment. Rushing through singles with the quickness and dropping a new album less than a year after the first was released (likely due to lukewarm sales) is on par with RiRi’s much critiqued re-release strategy (see: the 100 re-issues of ‘Good Girl Gone Bad’). I mean really.

To digest the absurdity of it all, one need not look further than Lady GaGa, who continues to enjoy chart-smashing success (BOTH ‘The Fame’ and ‘The Fame Monster’ are still in the top 10 on the Billboard 200), yet has only officially released one single since November – that being ‘Bad Romance’ – and has been on tour for the most part. I guess it goes to show folk will still buy records – if it’s worth their cash.

Still, it’ll be interesting to see how this plays out.

Your thoughts?

As the release of Kelly Rowland‘s hotly anticipated new album draws ever-nearer its May/June release, producer Rico Love has given fans a taster of what the LP will sound like. The hit-maker, who is co-producing Rowland’s entire project, previewed an instrumental of a confirmed album track on Twitter a few moments ago. Eager to get a feeler of what Ms. Kelly’s single is set to sound like? Check it out after the jump!…..


Chris Brown has endured heavy media criticism over the last year after facing allegations of domestic abuse against his ex-girlfriend, Rihanna. Now the controversial singer has offered his views on the problems being faced by Tiger Woods who recently was accused of cheating on his wife with multiple women. Check out what Brown had to say during an interview on radio show ‘Mojo in the Morning’ below:


Lady GaGa’s ‘The Monster Ball’ tour hit Liverpool in the UK last evening. The ‘Bad Romance’ singer performed some of her biggest hits in her own unique style for thousands of fans at the Echo Arena. Check out more shots below:


With the release of his 7th album, ‘Raymond vs. Raymond’, on the horizon, Usher’s team has provided his fans with a look at the record’s official tracklisting. The album features contributions from Rico Love, Polow Da Don, Jim Jonsin, Danja and Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis. ‘Raymond vs. Raymond’ hits stores on March 30th. Check out the official line-up below:

1. Monster

2. Hey Daddy (Daddy’s Home) (Ft. Plies)

3. There Goes My Baby

4. Love ‘Em All

5. She Don’t Know (Ft. Ludacris)

6. Lil Freak Usher (Ft. Nicki Minaj)

7. Mars vs. Venus

8. Prolover

9. Foolin’ Around

10. Papers

11. So Many Girls

12. Guilty (Ft. T.I.)

13. O.M.G. (Ft.

14. Making Love (Into The Night)



Power-couple, Beyonce and Jay-Z, looked a picture of happiness court-side at the Lakers vs Mavericks game yesterday in Dallas, Texas. 40 year old rapper Jay was in town for his Blueprint 3 tour, which made a stop there. Fun times.

Check out more pics below:

Your thoughts?

Pinned: Normal Posts Resume Below!

That Grape Juice caught up with Grammy award winning R&B star Monica this week. In our candid interview with the mother-of-two, she spoke on everything from finding her place in the industry again, to whether her hit BET reality show will be returning, exclusive details on her new album ‘Still Standing’, marriage, kids, Rihanna, and much more.

As ever, we ask the questions you really want answers to. A great read, I must say….Enjoy!

{Transcription by Bisi Kadejoh}

Monica Shouts Out That Grape Juice


eXTReMe Tracker