Ashanti Performs On Soundcheck

Published: Sunday 1st Jun 2008 by Sam
Ashanti recently performed a selection of new cuts from her new LP ‘The Declaration’, as well as a few hits from her back catalogue, for Walmart’s online concert series SoundCheck in New York. The setlist included:

* You’re Gonna Miss
* In These Streets
* The Way That I Love You
* Girlfriend
*Only U
Great performances! From the material to the vocals, to the performances etc, I’m sure even Ashanti’s biggest detractors have to admit she’s definitely upped her game this go-round. My only gripe is that they still haven’t changed that horrid choreography for ‘Only U’…urgh. That aside, she definitely did her thing. ‘The Declaration’ hits stores June 3rd in the US and June 9th here in the UK.

What do you think of the performances?

Posted under:

Comments 14

Please Post Your Comments & Reviews

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Robert June 1, 2008

    Despite her horrible eye makeup, she held her own.

    You’re Gonna Miss – Like the album version a lot better

    The Way That I Love You – Pretty Good, liked the ending

    Girlfriend – I love this song, reminds me of Movies from her 1st album

    I still have never understood why Foolish was a #1 hit over here in the US…it still seems so average to me.

  2. Anonymous June 1, 2008

    If you are interested in making a little extra money online by doing a minimal of work! A good site to make extra money by doing easy things like surveys and offers is You will be paid monthly by check, once you have reached the minimal payout of $10.00! There is no sign-up fee to join There are over 50,000 people who have joined

    Now there added bonus to this site is that you can earn 20% of what your direct referrals make and 10% of what THEIR referrals make! has a two level referral program. A few members are making a few extra hundred dollars a month just by referring people to the site! Another great advantage to this GPT (Get Paid To) site is that members can make more than a thousand dollars, just from doing offers! Of course this depends on a few things like where you live and how much time and effort that you’re willing to spend to making money!

  3. PEBB June 1, 2008


  4. Yinka June 1, 2008

    Oh wow Ashanti has been working hard and her voice has grown…ive loved ashanti 4 a long time lol. However im not feeling the eye make up and the red lipstick was a bit much.

    Its good to know she has good control over her music too [interview]…However from a singer/performer’s point of view i don’t think she should do the dancing thing too tough, on her it looks OLD & makes her look like another Beyonce imitator …AND i could tell ‘only you’ verse vocals were recorded before hand lol The first 3 performances were ON POINT though.
    Overall her performance was 8.26/10 =]
    Wellcome back Ashanti!!

  5. Del’sile Nandi June 1, 2008

    She came up…I was never a fan and I rarely ever become converted when it comes to artists I previously dissed or gave the side eye, but she did good and she’ll continue to do so…this I can tell cos teh album is butta, haters aside!

  6. Anonymous June 1, 2008

    Hmmmmm….I must be one of the few who is just NOT feeling Ashanti’s new material.To me it just doesn’t seem like she’s evolved..its more of a downgrade to me. And vocally…it just sounds like she’s yelling instead of singing!

  7. ND June 1, 2008

    Ashanti did her ting, I enjoyed it!!!

    I could nik pick but she’s four albums in now so I dnt think she’s about to change her foundations.

    She shares that realness keyshia and lil mo have.

    The materials great. Ima buy this album fo’sure cos her relationship story lyrics are always on point.

    I wish her success…

  8. Anonymous June 1, 2008

    Love her performance. Love her album. She really stepped up her game with this Grown & S*** album. One of her best. I will get two copy to support her wondeful effort

  9. PR June 1, 2008

    She worked hard for this album. Her live performances have improved too. Hope this album does good for her but I agree w/ the other comment that material doesn’t stand out.

  10. keith June 1, 2008

    I am by no stretch an Ashanti fan, hell, she didn’t even have a point until “Only U” but “Declaration” is okay…She’s still not much to WATCH – a little too “round the way girl realness” for me. The first song and “Only U” were the ones that seemed to have some energy. I would’ve like 2 more dancers for “Only U” – didn’t mind the lipsyncing, though cause I want to see boom kats on that track..

  11. lola am June 1, 2008

    Her live vocals have definitely improved. I thought she did a good job. I like her classic leggings/white shirt at the beginning, don’t like the makeup. I like her new album and will be buying Tuesday!

  12. Anonymous June 1, 2008

    I disagree, it wasn’t great at all. She has not improved. Her stage presence is so unprofessional. I want to like this girl, but it’s just not happening.

  13. T June 1, 2008

    she does need moee stage experience, yeah and she badly lipped da hell outta only u but everything else was tight, i’m def. a fan, getting this cd!! new only u dances too, she just shouldn’t dance, she just shouldn’t lol

  14. jeremydante June 2, 2008

    ashanti`s career is over.

Recommended Posts
.. **